A Blocked Post
If you have set posts to be blocked by default, then setting up content to be blocked is nothing more than adding the ‘more’ tag to the post content.
Any content before the ‘more’ tag will be shown as an excerpt on summary pages (such as archives) and on the individual post page if you have selected to “Show Excerpts.”
A Blocked Page
If you have set Pages to be blocked by default, you do not need to do anything. All pages will be blocked automatically (you can override this setting on individual pages, which will be covered shortly). IMPORTANT: The ‘more’ tag is generally not used on pages, and is not required by the plugin to block a page. However, if you have selected to “Show Excerpts,” you MUST use the ‘more’ tag for any blocked pages. Otherwise, all of the content will show as the excerpt.
Override the Default Setting for Posts/Pages
Any article’s block/unblocked status can override the default setting at the article level. For example, if you have selected to block all pages by default, but you want to have an unblocked “About Us” page, you would create the content as usual, but then set a Custom Field of “unblock” and set the value to “true”.
- When blocking Posts (whether by default or not), it is important to use the ‘more’ tag.
- When blocking Pages, you need not use the ‘more’ tag, unless you have selected to “Show Excerpts,” in which case you MUST use the ‘more’ tag.
- Overriding the default setting for Posts or Pages is as simple as setting the opposite as a custom field with a value of true – block or unblock.
- Custom Fields are case sensitive. Use all lower case!